• By Bruma Pty. Ltd
  • contact
    DecEzy Knowledge Base

    Knowledge Base

    Configuration File Management

    Author admin acount on December 7, 2016 | Print | Bookmark

    The DecEzy configuration files is where the settings for DecEzy are stored on each machine. The configuration file stores all of the machine/user specific settings, such as:

    • Connection details
    • Hidden/displayed columns
    • Window sizes

    If DecEzy is un-installed, the configuration file is deleted. This brings about the unfortunate situation, where if DecEzy is un-installed, and then re-installed, all of the settings in the configuration files are lost. This article hopes to help you keep your configuration file during an un-install/re-install.

    Finding Your Configuration File

    Before you un-install DecEzy, you need to find your configuration file. The configuration file usually resides in the the "Roaming" folder. This is usually found (in windows explorer) by going to "C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming", where "username" is the windows username of the current user. So if the current users windows username was "shanon", the path would be "C:\Users\shanon\AppData\Roaming":

    Please keep in mind that the AppData folder is a hidden folder - you cant see it when you go to your users folder in windows explorer:

    So you will need to open up C:\Users\username (In my case, C:\Users\shanon), and then type in "\AppData":

    From there, you should have no trouble opening the "Roaming" folder, and finding the DecEzy config file.

    Take a Copy of the Configuration File

    Once you have found the configuration file, you will need to make a copy of it. You can copy it wherever you want. In the below example, I have copied it to My Documents:

    Un-Install / Re-Install DecEzy

    Now you can un-install and re-install DecEzy, knowing that your DecEzy configuration file is safe.

    Copy the Configuration File Back

    Now that DecEzy has been re-installed, you can copy the configuration file back. This should go back into the location it came from: C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming. Please note, there will probably already be a new DecEzy configuration file there - it is safe to overwrite it:

    And there you have it. You should be able to run the freshly installed DecEzy, and still have the same settings you had before re-installing.

    Was this article helpful?

    Yes No

    Category: Technical

    Last updated on December 7, 2016 with 232 views

    s